Manus Cue vs Instinct vs Tab: Which Personal AI Agent Startup Deserves Its Valuation?

Manus Cue vs Instinct vs Tab: $10B, $300M and a raise above $500M. What each agent does, who can use it, and which valuation has the least evidence.

By Madhur Jain · · 6 min read

Instinct is valued at $10 billion after a $1 billion Series C announced on 28 September 2026. Tab emerged from stealth at a $300 million valuation on 6 October, and Manus raised more than $500 million on 8 October with no disclosed valuation.

All three give an AI agent its own phone and computer, and Cue and Tab add a wallet. None has published pricing, and all three are gated behind invites or a waitlist, so the valuations are bets on a category rather than on measured usage.

What do Manus Cue, Instinct and Tab actually do?

They are personal agents that act for you in the real world: texting, calling businesses, ordering and paying. The shared idea is that the agent has its own identity (a number, a browser, a payment method) instead of borrowing yours.

Cue (Manus)InstinctTab
How you reach itWeb, desktop, mobile (iOS pending App Store review)Text or callText via Messages (TechCrunch also names WhatsApp)
Own phone, computer, walletYes, per the companyPhone and computer per its siteYes, per a co-founder
Calls and messagesAgents send messages and take your calls, leaving a summaryTexts or calls on your behalfCalls hotels, doctor's offices, restaurants or vendors
Access (13 Oct 2026)Free early access with invite codeInvite-only, no mobile appPrivate beta, waitlist
PricingNone published beyond free early accessNone publishedNone published

Sources: The Next Web, Instinct, Tab, TechFundingNews. Last checked: 13 October 2026.

How much has each startup raised, and at what valuation?

Instinct has the biggest number and Tab the smallest, but Manus is the only one where the valuation is unknown. The table separates what was announced from what was merely reported.

StartupRoundValuationInvestors namedRevenue disclosed
Instinct$1B Series C (28 Sep 2026)$10BSequoia Capital, Benchmark, CoatueNo
TabAmount undisclosed (6 Oct 2026)$300MSV Angel, Valar Ventures, American SpiritNo
ManusMore than $500M (8 Oct 2026)Not disclosedBoyu Capital and IDG Capital led; Tencent, HSG, ZhenFund took partNo current figure

Sources: AI Weekly, SyncGTM, TechCrunch on Tab, TechCrunch on Manus.

Instinct's mark-up is the sharpest. TechFundingNews says the Series C came 33 days after a $250 million Series B at $2.5 billion, a fourfold jump. The same report puts Instinct's total funding at about $1.35 billion.

What is Manus Cue and what can it do?

Cue is the standalone personal-agent app Manus launched on 28 September 2026 alongside Manus 2.0. According to The Next Web, each agent gets its own email address, phone number, wallet and computer, and can send messages and pay within a budget the user sets.

Agents can also take your calls and leave a summary in the app. Several agents can share a group chat and hand work to each other. In Manus's example, one agent researches venues, another makes a shortlist and a third drafts the deck.

Cue is in early access and free with an invite code. Runtime Wire reports that iOS availability is pending App Store review. Neither article states budget caps or what Cue will cost after early access.

Manus 2.0 also introduced an agent system called Cascade. Manus says one tested setup used 23.2% fewer tokens, 28.2% less time and 32% less cost. These are company-reported numbers, and the test method was not described.

What is Instinct and why is it worth $10 billion?

Instinct describes itself as "a personal assistant that understands what you're working on and what's important to you." You text or call it, and it says it can use a phone and computer the way a person does. Examples on its site include disputing a bill, ordering groceries and scheduling doctor's appointments.

Founder Noah Shinn is 23 and a former research scientist at Sierra, according to TechFundingNews. The product was released as invite-only in August 2026, and the release does not disclose revenue or active users. TechFundingNews cites The Information for a count of more than 100,000 users and PYMNTS for the report that Shinn does not want to charge users.

That last point matters for the valuation. A $10 billion price on a free, invite-only product rests on expected future demand, not current income. For how Instinct handles group chats, see our earlier pieces on Instinct in group chats and Instinct vs Meta AI vs ChatGPT.

What is Tab and who is behind it?

Tab is a product of Terrasoft, Inc. and describes itself as "an AI you text when you need something done." It is in private beta with a waitlist. TechCrunch names the founders as Stafford Schlitt, Ammar Amdani and Brennan Erbz, who started working on Tab earlier this year. Dealroom spells the last name "Erb".

Tab says it has its own computer and browser and can call a hotel, doctor's office, restaurant or vendor. Co-founder Amdani told TechCrunch: "It has its own phone number, computer, and wallet." TechCrunch says the company is growing mostly by word of mouth and plans a new product soon.

The $300 million figure is the least stretched of the three. It is a launch valuation with an undisclosed raise, and the company has published no user numbers.

Which one is the safest to give your wallet to?

None can be ranked on evidence yet, because no independent testing has been published. The safeguards are company statements.

  • Tab: its site says "Before it spends, you see exactly what it is buying, the total, and who gets paid. Nothing is paid until you approve it." Amdani also told TechCrunch the card lives in a vault Tab itself never sees. Tbreak notes the founders did not explain how the vault or approval step works.
  • Cue: payments happen within a budget you set. No amounts, caps or per-transaction limits are published.
  • Instinct: no payment controls are described on its site. TechFundingNews reports that TechCrunch criticised its initial terms for a "perpetual and irrevocable" data licence, and that the company has since updated its policy.

If you plan to try any of them, start with low-stakes tasks and a prepaid or capped card. That advice is ours, not a vendor recommendation.

Which personal AI agent startup deserves its valuation?

On disclosed evidence, none of the three has earned its price yet, but Instinct has the largest gap between price and proof. Its valuation quadrupled in 33 days without published revenue, pricing or user counts from the company.

Manus has the strongest track record. It was said to have annual recurring revenue above $100 million when Meta announced its $2 billion deal in December 2025, though that figure is dated and was not confirmed by the company. A $4 billion valuation was reported in September talks, but it is not confirmed for the closed round.

Tab has the smallest bet attached. If it stalls, the downside is limited. If its word-of-mouth growth holds, $300 million looks modest next to Instinct.

If you are...Look atWhy
A buyer who wants something provenManus CueRevenue history reported, free early access, web and desktop
A buyer who wants the simplest interfaceInstinct or TabBoth work by text, no app to learn
An investor-minded readerManusRevenue history exists, valuation unknown
A cautious spenderTabSpending approval is the headline design choice (company claim)

What's still unclear?

Several basics are missing for all three.

  • Manus valuation: undisclosed. The $4 billion figure is a September report of talks.
  • Manus revenue today: the only figure is the December 2025 "said to be" ARR.
  • Instinct revenue, pricing and users: not disclosed by the company. The 100,000-user count is a single-source report.
  • Tab raise size: undisclosed. Dealroom calls the round a seed round, which is its own label, and the founder's surname is spelled two ways across outlets.
  • Payment safeguards: no independent testing, no published caps for Cue, and no detail on Tab's vault.
  • Competition: Meta launched its own agent, Muse, in September, according to The Next Web citing Bloomberg, and Cue is positioned against it.

The weakest point of any "deserves its valuation" argument is that valuations are set by investors, not by users. Until these products leave invite-only access and publish pricing, the question cannot be settled with data.

Frequently asked questions

How much did Instinct raise and at what valuation?

Instinct announced a $1 billion Series C on 28 September 2026 at a $10 billion valuation, with Sequoia Capital, Benchmark and Coatue named as investors. That came about a month after a $250 million Series B at $2.5 billion. The company has not disclosed revenue or pricing, according to AI Weekly's report on the Reuters story.

What valuation did Tab launch at?

Tab emerged from stealth on 6 October 2026 at a $300 million valuation, according to TechCrunch. The company declined to say how much it raised. Investors in the round include SV Angel, Valar Ventures and American Spirit. Tab is in private beta behind a waitlist, and no pricing has been published.

Did Manus disclose its valuation after raising more than $500 million?

No. TechCrunch reported on 8 October 2026 that Manus did not respond to questions about its valuation. An earlier TechCrunch report from September said Manus was in talks to raise $500 million at a $4 billion valuation, but that figure has not been confirmed for the closed round.

Can I use Cue, Instinct or Tab today?

Only with an invitation or a place off a waitlist. Cue is free in early access with an invite code, Instinct is invite-only, and Tab is a private beta behind a waitlist. As of 13 October 2026, none of the three has published paid pricing.

Are these agents safe to give a payment method?

There is no independent testing of any of them yet. Manus says Cue pays within a budget the user sets. Tab says nothing is paid until you approve it and that its card vault is never seen by Tab. Those are company statements, and the mechanisms are not publicly detailed.

Sources

  1. China's Manus raises over $500M in first funding round since split with Meta, TechCrunch (2026-10-08)
  2. Manus 2.0 and Cue give AI agents their own email, phone and wallet, The Next Web (2026-09-29)
  3. Manus gives Cue agents phone numbers, wallets and computers, Runtime Wire (2026-09-28)
  4. Instinct raises $1B Series C at $10B for personal AI agent, AI Weekly (2026-09-28)
  5. AI agent Instinct jumps to $10B valuation with $1B led by Sequoia, Benchmark and Coatue, TechFundingNews (2026-09-29)
  6. October 2026, week 1 funding rounds, SyncGTM (2026-10-04)
  7. Another personal AI assistant has launched: meet Tab, TechCrunch (2026-10-07)
  8. Tab exits stealth at $300M valuation in crowded AI assistant race, Dealroom (2026-10-08)
  9. Tab AI assistant, $300M valuation, Tbreak (2026-10-08)
  10. Tab, Tab (Terrasoft, Inc.) (2026-10-13)
  11. Instinct, Instinct (2026-10-13)