Instinct vs Meta AI vs ChatGPT: Which AI Agent Belongs in Your Group Chat?
Instinct vs Meta AI group chat: Instinct opened early access on 5 Oct 2026, Meta AI already works in four apps, and ChatGPT group chats are retired.
Instinct opened early access to group chats on 5 October 2026, and the company says the group agent works even when friends have no Instinct account. Meta AI already sits inside group chats on WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram and Facebook, per the same TechCrunch report. ChatGPT is the odd one out: Crypto Briefing reported that OpenAI began retiring its group chats on 9 July 2026.
So the real choice today is between Instinct, which the company pitches as getting things done for a group, and Meta AI, which is already available inside group chats on Meta's apps. Everything below is based only on published reporting and company statements as of 12 October 2026.
Which AI agents can join a group chat as of October 2026?
Two of the three can, and one of them is invite-only. Instinct's group chat is open to early access users, while Meta AI can be added to group chats in four Meta apps. ChatGPT no longer lets people create new group chats.
| Instinct | Meta AI | Meta Muse | ChatGPT | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Group chat status (as of 12 Oct 2026) | Early access since 5 Oct 2026 | Available | Not yet offered | Retiring since 9 Jul 2026 |
| Where | Not stated in launch coverage | WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram, Facebook | Muse app, and directly in WhatsApp | Existing group chats read-only |
| Friends need an account? | No, per the company | Not stated in TechCrunch's report | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Source | TechCrunch | TechCrunch | TechCrunch | Crypto Briefing |
Last checked: 12 October 2026.
What does Instinct's group chat actually do?
It adds a shared Instinct agent to a thread that works for the whole group. In a post embedded by TechCrunch, founder Noah Shinn wrote: "Starting today, early access users can add Instinct to group chats. A new Instinct joins and works for the whole group."
The use cases the company lists are travel planning, snagging event tickets, running fantasy leagues, organizing carpools and managing who is bringing what to Thanksgiving. Shinn also said that with Instinct in the group, "you can explore options together, agree on a plan and get it done, all in one thread."
The feature is limited to early access users for now. Per TechCrunch, it will expand to all users "soon", and people can ask their Instinct agent to put them on the list. No date has been given.
How does Instinct handle privacy in a group?
It uses two agents: your personal one and a group one, kept apart. TechCrunch reports that your personal Instinct asks permission before connecting with the group's Instinct. The group's agent is siloed from members' personal accounts, which it cannot access.
Three controls stand out, all company-described:
- Your personal agent always asks before sharing information or taking action.
- You choose which groups you trust and can remove that trust at any time.
- If new members join, any pending replies from your personal agent are held before they are shared with the group.
These are design claims. Nobody outside the company has published an audit of how they hold up in practice.
What can Meta AI do in a group chat, and what about Muse?
Meta AI is the incumbent here. TechCrunch's report says Meta AI can be added to group chats on WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram and Facebook. AI Weekly repeats the point, though it cites TechCrunch rather than reporting it independently. TechCrunch does not describe in detail what Meta AI does in a group or how it is invoked.
Muse is a different product. Meta launched it on 8 September 2026 as a personal AI agent, and Meta says "talking to it works just like messaging another person, in the Muse app or directly in WhatsApp." Meta's launch post does not mention group chats, and TechCrunch says Muse does not yet offer group chat.
Muse is also narrower in reach. Meta says it is rolling out in the US on iOS, Android and muse.ai, and TechCrunch's 25 September report says it is currently only available in the U.S. and Canada.
What happened to ChatGPT group chats?
OpenAI is winding them down. Crypto Briefing reports the retirement began on 9 July 2026: users cannot create new group chats or add participants to existing ones, and current group conversations shift to a read-only format. Individual ChatGPT conversations are untouched, the outlet says.
The feature had a short life. It launched as a pilot on 13 November 2025 in Japan, New Zealand, South Korea and Taiwan, supported up to 20 participants, and was global by 20 November 2025, according to PCWorld and Crypto Briefing.
OpenAI has moved its collaboration effort elsewhere. TechCrunch notes that OpenAI launched ChatGPT Dots, which work in ChatGPT Spaces. That is a team workspace pitch, not a friends' group thread.
How much do these agents cost?
Group chat pricing is not clear for any of the three. TechCrunch's Instinct report does not state a price. For Meta, the Muse launch post says it is free for most of what people need, with subscription plans for people who want to do more. The Benton Institute, summarizing Axios, reports a free tier plus $20 per month and $100 per month options. Those figures are as of 9 September 2026 and apply to Muse, not to Meta AI in group chats.
| Instinct group chat | Muse | ChatGPT group chat | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (as of 12 Oct 2026) | Not stated in launch coverage | Free tier, $20 and $100 per month per Axios via Benton | Retired |
Which should you use for your group?
Pick by the job.
- Planning something with consequences (tickets, trips, carpools): Instinct is the only option built for it, if you can get early access. Remember it is the company's description, and early.
- Staying inside an existing thread: Meta AI, because it can be added in the Meta apps where your group may already live.
- A group of mixed AI habits: Instinct's no-account claim matters most here. Meta AI works within Meta's apps, so the group needs to be on one of them.
- ChatGPT-first teams: Group chat is gone. The reported alternative is Spaces, which is a work tool.
What's still unclear?
Several things limit how far this comparison goes.
- Instinct's weak points are untested. Business Insider, as relayed by Let's Data Science, reported that early users raised concerns about Instinct's access to connected accounts, inaccurate explanations of its actions and messages sent using details from earlier conversations. Those were reported before the group feature, and group use may raise the stakes.
- Where Instinct runs is not stated. The launch coverage does not say which messaging apps the group agent works in.
- Meta AI's group abilities are thinly sourced. The group chat claim traces to one TechCrunch line, and Meta's Muse post does not cover it.
- ChatGPT's status relies on secondary reporting. Crypto Briefing describes OpenAI's retirement, and its headline mentions a DM-style messages tab that the article body does not explain.
- Rollout timing. Instinct says "soon" for all users. No date, and no price, has been published in the launch coverage.
Do not read the absence of group chat in Muse as a long-term gap. It may simply be early.
Frequently asked questions
Can friends without an Instinct account join a group chat with Instinct?
Yes, according to the company. TechCrunch reported on 5 October 2026 that group chats with the Instinct agent work even if a user's friends have not joined Instinct. The feature is limited to early access users for now, and Instinct says it will expand to all users soon, without giving a date.
Does Meta's Muse app support group chat?
Not yet, according to TechCrunch's 5 October 2026 report. Meta AI, the older assistant, can be added to group chats on WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram and Facebook. Meta's own Muse launch post of 8 September 2026 does not mention group chats.
Can I still start a group chat in ChatGPT?
Apparently not. Crypto Briefing reported on 11 July 2026 that OpenAI began retiring ChatGPT group chats on 9 July 2026, so users cannot create new group chats or add participants. Existing group chats shift to read-only. Individual ChatGPT conversations are unaffected.
How does Instinct protect my personal data in a group?
Per TechCrunch, the group's Instinct agent is siloed from members' personal accounts, which it cannot access. Your personal agent asks permission before sharing information or acting, and you can choose which groups to trust and remove that trust at any time.
Which agent is best for planning a trip or buying event tickets with friends?
Instinct is the only one of the three built around that job. Its launch coverage lists travel planning, event tickets, fantasy leagues and carpools. Meta AI can be added to group threads on Meta's apps, but the coverage does not describe what it does there. ChatGPT no longer offers new group chats, so it is not an option for this.
How much does Instinct group chat cost?
The launch coverage from TechCrunch does not state a price for the group chat feature. Early access is by request: users can ask their Instinct agent to put them on the list. Check Instinct's own site for current plans before relying on it.
Sources
- Instinct brings its AI agent to group chats, even for friends without an account, TechCrunch (2026-10-05)
- Instinct Opens Its AI Agent to Group Chats With Non-Users, AI Weekly (2026-10-06)
- Instinct Adds AI Agents to Group Chats, Let's Data Science (2026-10-06)
- Introducing Muse: The World's First Personal AI Agent Built for Everyone, Meta Newsroom (2026-09-08)
- Meta debuts Muse, its long-planned personal AI agent, Benton Institute for Broadband & Society (summarizing Axios) (2026-09-09)
- Meta is putting its muscle behind Muse as the AI app takes off, TechCrunch (2026-09-25)
- OpenAI retires group chats in ChatGPT, introduces DM-style messages tab, Crypto Briefing (2026-07-11)
- ChatGPT can now do group chats, but only in these countries (for now), PCWorld (2025-11-14)