Manus Raised $500M After Leaving Meta. Is a $4B Valuation Justified Against ChatGPT Agent and Claude?
Manus $500 million funding: the round is confirmed, the $4B valuation is not. What Manus ships and charges today, versus Claude and ChatGPT.
Manus parent company Butterfly Effect said on 8 October 2026 that it raised more than $500 million, led by Boyu Capital and IDG Capital. It is the first round since Chinese authorities forced Meta to unwind its roughly $2 billion acquisition. The $4 billion valuation in the headline is not confirmed: the company did not disclose one, and the figure comes from a Bloomberg report of talks on 17 September 2026.
How much did Manus raise, and who invested?
Manus raised more than $500 million, according to Butterfly Effect, as reported by VKTR on 8 October 2026. Boyu Capital and IDG Capital led. Existing shareholders HSG and ZhenFund put in more, and VKTR also lists Tencent among the follow-on investors, a name Let's Data Science does not include.
The exact total has not been published beyond "more than $500 million". Treat the investor list as company-supplied, and the Tencent detail as reported by one outlet.
Is Manus actually worth $4 billion?
The $4 billion number is a press report, not a disclosure. Bloomberg reported on 17 September that Manus was close to a $500 million round at a $4 billion valuation, roughly double its $2 billion mark, and that terms could still change. When the round was announced, Manus did not disclose its post-funding valuation.
So the honest framing is: $500 million is confirmed, $4 billion is reported but unconfirmed. That matters because the only company-reported revenue figure is older. In December 2025 Manus said it had crossed $100M in ARR, eight months after launch, with a total revenue run rate above $125 million including usage-based revenue. Those are company claims, and they predate the Meta deal, the unwind and the Manus 2.0 relaunch. No newer ARR or user count has been published by the company.
If the old figures held, $4 billion would be about 40 times ARR. That is a back-of-envelope calculation from a December 2025 company claim, not a measured multiple.
What happened between Manus and Meta?
Meta agreed to buy Manus in December 2025 for about $2 billion. According to Silicon UK, citing The Information, the Chinese government ordered Meta in April 2026 to unwind it, and early backers including HSG, ZhenFund and Tencent prepared to buy the company back for the $2 billion originally paid.
On 1 September 2026, Manus said it had formally resumed independent operations, with the founding team still leading. Some users had to back up and restore data and faced a temporary interruption in access, and Manus set up a restoration portal with no deadline. Reports differ on when the operational separation finished (May in one, mid-June in another), so this article does not date it.
What does Manus ship today?
Manus launched Manus 2.0 on 28 September 2026, less than a month after resuming independence. The company lists these pieces:
| Component | What the company says it does |
|---|---|
| Cascade | New agent harness. In "one tested configuration" it used 23.2% fewer tokens, took 28.2% less time and cost 32% less (company-reported) |
| Cloud Computer | A dedicated environment you can purchase; no price in the launch post |
| Automations | Scheduled tasks that can also trigger from a new email, calendar event, Slack message or Notion update |
| Manus Studio | Upgraded desktop app with Video Editor and Game Dev |
| Remote Control and Computer Use | Direct your own computer from your phone |
| Cue | Standalone personal-agent app; free with an invite code, early access |
We covered the Cue launch separately in Manus Cue Gives Every AI Agent Its Own Phone Number and Wallet.
This is a broad product, but none of these figures are independent benchmarks. The efficiency numbers come from one configuration chosen by Manus.
How much does Manus cost?
As of 13 October 2026, the Manus Help Center lists a free tier and credit-based paid plans. Last checked: 13 October 2026.
| Plan | Price | Included |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0/month | 300 daily refresh credits, Manus 2.0 Lite in Agent Mode, 1 concurrent task, 2 Scheduled Automations |
| Pro | From $20/month | From 4,000 credits a month, 20 concurrent tasks, 20 Scheduled Automations, Manus 2.0 Max, 2.0 and 2.0 Lite |
| Pro (higher tier) | From $40/month, 7-day free trial | From 8,000 credits a month, otherwise the same features |
| Team | From $20 per seat/month | Everything in Pro plus SSO, data-training opt-out, usage analytics and access control |
Paid tiers get a 17% discount on annual billing. Cue phone-number subscriptions are bought separately. The help page says it is subject to what the live pricing page shows.
How does Manus compare with Claude and ChatGPT?
Manus competes on breadth of agent features per dollar, while Claude and ChatGPT compete on model quality and distribution. Pricing for the three is not like-for-like, so use this as a rough map.
| Manus | Claude (Anthropic) | ChatGPT (OpenAI) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry paid price (as of 13 Oct 2026) | From $20/month | $20/month ($17/month billed annually) | See OpenAI plan pages |
| Higher tier | From $40/month | Max from $100/month (5x or 20x Pro usage) | See OpenAI plan pages |
| Agent features | Cascade, Cloud Computer, Automations, Cue | Claude Code, Research, Claude in Chrome, hand off and schedule tasks on Pro | OpenAI says ChatGPT agent is retired; ChatGPT Work is the successor |
| Usage model | Credits | Usage limits by plan | See OpenAI plan pages |
On Anthropic's pricing page, Claude Code is included in all paid plans, and Research and Claude in Chrome are available from Pro. On OpenAI's help center, ChatGPT agent is listed as no longer available, with ChatGPT Work named for longer multi-step tasks. So the "ChatGPT Agent" half of this comparison has moved. Verify ChatGPT Work's current price and limits on OpenAI's own pages.
The strategic gap is clear. Claude and ChatGPT are made by the labs that train the frontier models. Manus builds a harness around models. For related pricing context, see our Cursor vs Windsurf vs Claude Code pricing comparison and the open-source alternatives in Hermes Agent vs OpenClaw vs Claude Code.
What are the problems with Manus?
The risks are about durability, not features. Manus has been through an acquisition agreement in December 2025 and an unwind in 2026. Users already lived through a restore-your-data episode, as Manus's own post describes.
Credits are the other friction. A credit model makes the cost of a task hard to predict, and the Help Center says plan credits reset monthly while purchased credit packs never expire. Manus has not published a price for Cloud Computer in its launch post. Cue is invite-only and free for now, so its long-term pricing is open.
Is the valuation justified?
On what is public, it is plausible but unproven. A $4 billion price would rest on a company-reported $100 million ARR from December 2025, a fast-moving product line, and a new war chest of more than $500 million. It would not rest on any independently audited revenue, retention or user number, because none has been published.
The counter-case is also real. If the models underneath Manus keep improving and the labs bundle agents into $20 plans, a harness company has to keep out-shipping them. For buyers, the practical answer does not depend on the valuation.
| If you are... | Our read |
|---|---|
| An individual trying agents on a budget | Start on Manus Free, which costs $0, and compare with Claude Pro at $20 a month |
| A developer who mostly writes code | Claude Code is included in paid Claude plans; Manus is not a coding-first product |
| A team that needs SSO and data controls | Manus Team starts at $20 per seat; ask about credit pooling before committing |
| Someone who needs vendor stability | Wait for post-funding disclosures |
What's still unclear?
- The valuation. Manus did not disclose one, and Bloomberg's $4 billion figure described talks that could still change.
- Round size and investors. "More than $500 million" is the only figure published. Tencent appears in one outlet's investor list but not another's.
- Current revenue. The last company-reported ARR is from December 2025.
- Meta timeline. Outlets disagree on when the operational separation completed.
- ChatGPT Work. Its price and limits relative to Manus are not covered here.
- Cloud Computer and Cue pricing. Neither is priced in the launch post.
Frequently asked questions
How much did Manus raise?
Manus parent company Butterfly Effect said it raised more than $500 million, announced on 8 October 2026. Boyu Capital and IDG Capital led the round, with follow-on money from existing shareholders. The exact total beyond 'more than $500 million' has not been published, and the company did not disclose a post-funding valuation.
Is Manus really valued at $4 billion?
Not confirmed. Bloomberg reported on 17 September 2026 that Manus was close to a $500 million round at a $4 billion valuation, about double the $2 billion mark. Manus did not disclose its post-funding valuation when the round was announced, so $4 billion is a press report of talks, not a company figure.
Why did Meta's Manus deal fall apart?
Meta agreed to acquire Manus in December 2025 for about $2 billion. According to reporting citing The Information, the Chinese government ordered Meta in April 2026 to unwind the deal, and Manus's early backers prepared to buy the company back at the $2 billion originally paid. Manus said on 1 September 2026 that it had formally resumed independent operations.
How much does Manus cost?
As of 13 October 2026, the Manus Help Center lists a Free plan at $0, Pro plans starting from $20 and $40 a month, and Team from $20 per seat a month. Paid tiers get a 17% discount on annual billing. Usage runs on credits, and the page says the live pricing page takes precedence.
Is ChatGPT agent still available?
According to OpenAI's help center, ChatGPT agent has been retired, and OpenAI points users to ChatGPT Work for longer, multi-step tasks. Check OpenAI's current plan pages for what Work includes and costs before comparing it with Manus.
Sources
- Manus raises $500M in first round since China blocked Meta deal, VKTR (2026-10-08)
- Manus Raises $500 Million After Meta Breakup, Let's Data Science (2026-10-08)
- Manus Seeks $4B Valuation in $500M Round After Meta Split, AI Weekly (2026-09-17)
- Manus investors plan to buy back AI startup from Meta, Silicon UK (2026-06-19)
- Manus Resumes Independent Operations, Manus (2026-09-01)
- Manus Update: $100M ARR, $125M revenue run-rate, Manus (2025-12-17)
- Introducing Manus 2.0, Manus (2026-09-28)
- What is the current membership pricing for Manus?, Manus Help Center (2026-10-13)
- Claude pricing, Anthropic (2026-10-13)
- ChatGPT agent, OpenAI Help Center (2026-10-13)